Central Internal Audit Unit (CIAU) has completed the audit of Constituency Development Fund (CDF) in the following nine Councils; Nkhatabay, Ntchisi, Mchinji, Dedza, Mulanje, Phalombe, Kasungu Districts, and Cities of Zomba and Blantyre.

The audits were conducted in December 2017 and covered transactions for the 2015/16 and 2016/17 financial years. It was a continuation of the previous audits which were conducted in 16 Councils between October and November 2017. Plans are under way to audit the remaining 6 Councils in the 2018-2019 financial year.

The exercise also provided a platform to share knowledge and skills with internal auditors from the Councils because 9 internal auditors from various Councils were part of the auditors that undertook the exercise.